Pentagon hosts Sijan award presentation, first-ever resiliency event

  • April 25, 2019

Air Force Chief of Staff Gen. David L. Goldfein presented eight Airmen with the 2017 and 2018 Lance P. Sijan Leadership Award April 17, 2019, at the Pentagon’s Hall of Heroes in Arlington.

The award was named in honor of the first Air Force Academy graduate to receive the Medal of Honor for his bravery and courage while evading capture and during his subsequent captivity as a prisoner of war after being shot down over Vietnam Nov. 9, 1967.

The 2018 award recipients: Lt. Col. Martin O’Brien, 1st Lt. Jason Quadros, Master Sgt. Robert Perz and Master Sgt. Veronica Babauta, alongside the 2017 award recipients, were all honored during the ceremony.

“Each of our honorees have their own story. Their commonality is the highest quality of leadership in the performance of their duties and in the conduct of their lives,” Goldfein said. “Just like Capt. Lance Sijan.”

Sijan’s younger sister, Janine Sijan-Rozina, accompanied Goldfein for the presentation of the annual award.

To read more about the event, click here.

Click here to view a video related to the event.